Mixed Blessing

PJ Harvey is a person I so deeply admire she’s become something beyond a mere idol: she is just pure inspiration.

Not only is she an outstanding musician, but her words and lyric-writing speak right into me.

This excerpt of a Dazed interview one of the reasons why:

D&C: You once said in Dazed & Confused, “Sometimes I wish I didn’t feel so deeply. I wish I could let things ride a bit more.” Do you still feel that way?

PJ Harvey: As an artist, no matter what field of work you’re in or medium, you have to feel things deeply in order to then process that and turn it around and put it out someway in whatever art form you are using. So it’s a mixed blessing. Obviously, you need to be extremely sensitive as a person in order to absorb all of these feelings and in order to process them and that has its downsides. It can be extremely draining, but at the same time if I didn’t have those qualities myself, if I wasn’t able to feel these things on a very deep level, I couldn’t write about them and I feel very lucky to be able to do the work I do and I really enjoy doing it.

If I may dare to say so, I make her words mine.

And as a treat, here’s the last of the short films/music videos done by Seamus Murphy for PJ‘s Let England Shake. It is one of my favorite songs, too:

With hearts that threatened to pop their boxes.

Leave a Reply

