Two Moods for Monday

Last weekend was nothing but intense. Crazy cocktail parties hosted by my roommate followed by a whole day devoted to finding the right music to play at a nightclub.

Yes, I’m also a DJ.

I don’t know about you guys, but I am completely won over by American rhythm virtuoso Janelle Monáe. Her second record, The ArchAndroid is remarkable in the sense that each and every song is an entire musical universe in its own.

Although Tightrope is one of the most delightful hits in the album, there is another song that I really like, Cold War:

Given my extensive music video memory, I couldn’t help but think of a similarly structured video with equally strong lyrics and yet a totally different mood to it, Sinéad O’Connor‘s 1990 version of Nothing Compares 2U:

Many were those brought to tears by this video and it is no wonder, emotions flow abundantly in this beautifully sung song.

Pick your mood and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

