Remembrance

Writing daily reports in a diary-like style (notice that I don’t want to restrain the way to do it) has two major advantages:

  1. it helps clear one’s mind;
  2. it is a great material for endless laughing years later.

When I first found my teenage diaries, I was really afraid they would make me feel sad given the fact that I went through a lot at the time. Loneliness, friendlessness and lack of chances to be with a guy were some of my main concerns back then.

But then, to my surprise, I was greatly amused by my own thoughts. I was astonishingly mature for my own age. An excerpt from my 15-year-old self:

I see no fun in going to straight places anymore. There is nothing for me there and they won’t solve my biggest problem: finally kissing a guy. What I need to do is find the address of a gay club and go there. I’d be much better off there than trying to fit in where I obviously do not belong.

My decisiveness was unmistakable even back in those days.

But I am mostly glad to see that throughout the years I was able to make incredibly loyal and loving friends. I cherish my friends so much there are no words to describe my love for them.

Instead, I choose to post a song by Antony and the Johnsons from their upcoming new album, Swanlights, to be released in mid October.

What I like most about it is that it was made using images shot by Antony Hegarty himself upon his arrival in NYC in the early 90’s.

Thank you for your love, my friends.

Leave a Reply

