Motion in culture

Today is Brazil’s National Day.

For most of us though, September 07 is just a day to enjoy our friends’ and families’ companies or basically do nothing – by a pool, preferably.

So here I was, just surfing the internet after lovely breakfast with dear guests when I found Karin Dreijer Andersson‘s mixtape on DazedDigital.

Listen to her delightful music list here

It is so remarkable how my tastes sometimes go around in circles. If you read this blog, you probably know I’m mildly obsessed with both Africa and Scandinavia.

Fever Ray's new tour costumes

These places are universes apart, but then I come across one of my favorite artist’s playlist and find lots of African music in it.

I should have known by now that Fever Ray is always surprising. It seems that what I wrote about the end of the project might have been a bit hasty. Since then it seems Karin changed her mind. The new tour is a witness to that change.

How extraordinary it is to see all these tastes and references come together. Unlike what most xenophobes might believe, culture is not stagnant.

You do the math.

Leave a Reply

