Miranda & McQueen

Every time I use the word ‘creativity’ here I can’t help but wonder if I am being too repetitive. Then yesterday, after the shock of Alexander McQueen‘s death, I had an insight to why it is so crucial to me.

I truly feel the need to have access to others’ creativeness, for it somehow feeds my own sense of creation. The process of writing becomes much more difficult for me if there’s nothing to get inspiration from. All sorts of art inspire, especially those who challenge or defy the spectator.

Having said all that, I must state here my endless admiration for the work of multitalented artist Miranda July. Ever since I saw her film “Me and You and Everyone We Know” some years ago I am constantly mesmerized by just about everything she does, be it visual arts, music, photography or even a paper note.

Here’s a video of her I found that shows how interesting she is:

It also shows one of the things I like most about Miranda: her sense of humour.

It is to artists like her that I look up when I feel a creative void, such as with McQueen’s tragic death. It really helps.

Leave a Reply

