Sceptical to the bones

As many of you may know, Rio de Janeiro was selected to host the 2016 Olympic Games. As a Brazilian, all I can say is: big deal.

Honestly and realistically thinking, this is the last way one should spend the $ 12 billion expected to be invested in the whole sports extravaganza. When you think about it, if Brazil is a corruption inferno, Rio is its Devil. I just cannot see how this megainvestment – which would be much more beneficial had it been applied to education and/or public health – would do the general public any good.

Not the best way to spend $12 bi

Not the best way to spend $12 bi

I know the president cried and was all emotional about it and I was almost touched, but showing off is not the answer for anything. He may be right when he says “the time has come for Brazil”, but this isn’t the time anyone with a critical view would expect.

Yes I’m sceptical and I’m it to my bones. I just hope all this money doesn’t get sucked into a black whole of greedy and amoral politicians.

So help us God.

Leave a Reply

