Eksotiske landskap

I have been to many, many countries and my willingness to travel around the globe continues to grow quite unexpectedly.

Everyone who knows me well is aware that I have a thing for the Nordic and Arctic countries in general. Being from Brazil and calling wonderful beaches and lush vegetation everyday landscape, cold and ice is what I consider exotic.

Keeping warm in the North with Vík Prjónsdóttir

Keeping warm in the North with Vík Prjónsdóttir

When asked about my favorite destination, I often  say: Iceland. It was the second country I visited in my life, as a teenager (before everybody started going there, I must add) and it had such a huge impact in my life.

It is incredibly rough, cold, full of contrasts and surprisingly pleasant. Icelanders spend a lot of money and time trying to be out-of-this-word hip and modern, despite their rather rural and indoors-loving traditional culture. Add lava instead of ground, no trees, active volcanoes and untouched glaciers with hard liquor and you just might get an idea of what it is.

A lava flower by Guðrún Lilja Gunnlaugsdóttir

A lava flower by Guðrún Lilja Gunnlaugsdóttir

I long to go back there. One day maybe, after I go to Africa.

Leave a Reply

