Tidal

I’ve never mentioned it here before, but the singer/songwriter/musician whom I most admire in the entire world is Fiona Apple.

Every once in a while I look for information on her on the internet, just so I know I’m keeping in touch with her art in a any way.

To my surprise, I found an interview she gave some time ago about her career, fame and the process of making music. Once again, I was amazed on how sensitive and how wonderfully creative and astonishingly insightful she is when writing her lyrics.

Fiona Apple

Fiona‘s process of writing is very similar to mine in a way. Sometimes, she said, the whole idea for a song comes from a single word she finds fascinating or intriguing in any sense. The way it sounds or its meaning sort inspires her to create a story – a song – about something that she’s feeling at the time.

I love that one thought, that one sole word can give way to a whole universe of meanings and expressions. I cannot express how beautiful and that is to me.

As a tribute to Fiona Apple‘s genius, here’s a video for one of my (many) favorite songs of hers:

Fast As You Can (click to watch it on YouTube)

Taken from her second album, When the Pawn…, it so represents what I feel when I’m in a relationship that it becomes like an inside view of myself.

And although I’m also very sensitive to rhythm, melodies and beats, good lyrics speak straight to my heart.

Lyrics, people, lyrics.

Leave a Reply

